As owners of property, taxpayers are ultimately responsible to make sure taxes are paid when due. Failure to receive a bill does not exempt the taxpayer from payment of all taxes, interest, liens and collection fees, per Connecticut General Statutes 12-130 and 12-146. Each year the last on-time payment date for the first installment is Aug. 1. The last on-time payment date for the second installment and supplemental bills is Feb. 1. The only exception to this rule is if the last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, in which case it is moved to the next business day, per Connecticut General Statute 12-169.
Late payments are determined by official U.S. postmark. Payments postmarked or dropped off on time do not accrue interest if processed after the deadline. Late payments are subject to interest at the rate of 1 ½ percent per month, or 18 percent per annum from the due date, as required by Connecticut General Statutes 12-130, 12-145 and 12-146. The minimum interest is $2 per installment.
Tax Bill Information
The city mails only one tax bill per year for each motor vehicle, real estate and sewer and personal property on its grand list. The three-part bill has a coupon for the first and second installments and a coupon to retain for your records. The full year’s taxes can be paid in July, but payments may not be taken for future grand list years. The assessed year begins Oct. 1 of each year. Since taxes are in arears, the payment dates for the assessed year are the following July and January.
Motor Vehicle License Plates
All motor vehicle license plates no longer in use must be returned to the Department of Motor Vehicles immediately. Make sure you obtain a plate cancellation receipt and promptly return it to the assessor’s office. The DMV must be notified of a change of address within 48 hours.
Who to Contact
If you received a tax bill for real estate or personal property that was bought/sold and are not sure whether you are responsible, contact your closing attorney. If you want to question the assessed value of your property, call the assessor’s office at 203-937-3515 immediately upon receipt of the tax bill.